
The Doubling Cube

Q: What is a doubling cube?

A doubling cube is a cubical block, a little larger than a
regular die, with the numbers 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, and 64
printed on its faces. It is sometimes simply called the
cube. The purpose is to allow players to bet on the game
as they are playing.

Q: How do you use a doubling cube?

At the beginning of the game, the
doubling cube is placed halfway between
the players, either on the bar or at the
side of the board, with the number 64
face up. The 64 means that the stakes
have not been doubled yet. (Most
doubling cubes do not have a 1, so the number 64 is understood to
represent 1.)

The position of the cube, halfway between the players, indicates
that both players have access to it. That is, either player can make
the first double.

At any point during the game, a player
who thinks he has a sufficient advantage
may double the stakes. He can do this
only at the beginning of his turn, before
he has rolled the dice.

When a double is offered, the opponent
may refuse the double, in which case he resigns the game and
forfeits the current stakes. The current stakes is the value of the
cube before the double is offered, in this case one point.

If the opponent doesn't want to resign, he may accept the double,
and agree to continue play at double the previous stakes. He places
the cube on his side of the board with the number 2 face up. The
number 2 represents the fact that the stakes are now doubled. The
position of the cube means that player now owns the doubling cube
and only he may make the next double.
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If the game later turns around and the
player who owns the cube feels he now
has an advantage, he may redouble the
stakes to 4. His opponent may refuse and
give up the current stakes (now two units)
or he may accept and continue play at
quadruple the initial stakes.

There is no limit to the number of doubles and redoubles in a single
game, except that no player may double twice in a row.

At the end of the game, the loser pays the winner the value of the
doubling cube in whatever units they have agreed to play for. For
example, if playing for one dollar a point and the doubling cube
shows 4, then the loser pays the winner four dollars. In the case of
a gammon or backgammon, this amount is doubled or tripled.

Q: Can I double if I am on the bar and closed out?

Yes, you can double at the start of any turn. You have to be alert,
though; your opponent, seeing that you can't move, may roll his
dice without waiting to see what you do. Just ask him to "wait,
please" as he picks up his dice while you decide whether or not to
double.

Q: What is an automatic double?

Some people play that if the two players roll the same number on
the first roll of the game, then the doubling cube is automatically
turned to 2. The cube stays in the middle but now the first
voluntary double of the game will be offered at 4.

If the players roll the same number again, then the cube is turned
up another notch, though players often agree to limit the number of
automatic doubles to one per game.

Q: What is the Jacoby rule?

The Jacoby rule says that a gammon or backgammon does not count
extra unless the cube has been turned, that is, unless a double has
been offered and accepted in the present game. The purpose of the
rule is to avoid long games in which one player tries for a gammon
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rather than double the opponent out for one point.

Technically, the Jacoby rule is optional, but its use in money play is
very common. The Jacoby rule is never used in match play.

The Jacoby rule is named for Oswald Jacoby, coauthor of The
Backgammon Book, who proposed and promoted the rule. See post
by Daniel Murphy.

Q: What are beavers?

If one player doubles, and the opponent accepts the double and
decides his position is good enough, he may immediately redouble
while retaining posession of the cube. This immediate redouble
without giving up the cube is called a beaver.

For example, suppose the cube is in the center and there have been
no doubles yet this game. Player A decides to double the stakes. B
accepts the double (the cube now shows 2), then B says "beaver"
and turns the cube up one more notch to 4. At this point, if A has
second thoughts, he can decline the beaver and give up two points;
otherwise the game continues with the cube at 4. B still owns the
cube, so he can redouble again on a future turn. All of this happens
during A's turn; A now rolls the dice and the game continues.

Playing beavers is optional, so you should agree with your opponent
beforehand whether or not you are playing this rule.
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